Pascal’s place

Icon

Views on technology and libraries

Jazz Traditions, 2/1/2010 10:00 pm – Midnight WSND 88.9FM

Boy, some real gems here tonight! We start off with Oscar Peterson and a great orchestra with songs from Nat “King” Cole. Oscar sings them all and he has a great voice!

Oscar Peterson Orchestra
“With Respect to Nat”
Limelight Records, 1965.
When my sugar walks down the street
It’s only a paper moon
Walkin’ my baby back home
Sweet Lorraine
Unforgettable
Little girl
Gee baby ain’t I good to you
Orange colored sky
Straighten up and fly right
Calypso blues
What can I say after I say I’m sorry
Easy listening blues

Next up, one of my favorite Milt Jackson performances, here recorded live in 1965 at MoMA in NYC. James Moody on flute and other reeds, Ron Carter on bass, Cedar Walton, piano and Candy Finch on drums accompany my fave vibes player, Mr. Milt Jackson.

Milt Jackson
“At the Museum of Modern Art”
Limelight (1965)
The quota
Novamo
Enigma
Turquoise
Chyrise
Montelei
Simplicity & beauty
Flying saucer
Namesake

We complete the show with a fine live set from 2003, Benny Green (Piano) and Russel Malone (Guitar). Mellow and sweet, as is the night!

Benny Green & Russell Malone
“Jazz at The Bistro”
Telarc (2003)
Ask me now
Tale of the fingers
A bientot
Sing
When lights are low
Wabash
Killing me softly
How deep is your love?
The intimacy of the blues

Filed under: WSND, ,

Leave a Reply

